Stages is a seven-level developmental framework that describes a learner's cognitive and language abilities. Stages helps schools comply with alternate assessment mandates by providing an accessible way to assess learners with special needs. Stages also serves as a selection guide for curriculum activities (including both software and off-computer activities). The sequence of seven Stages is based on the work of Madalaine Pugliese, a nationally recognized authority in the fields of assistive and instructional technologies. The Stages framework gives parents, educators and clinicians a common language for reviewing learner progress. The seven Stages are developmental in nature and are not age or grade specific. The appropriate stage for a learner is the one where he or she is challenged, but not overwhelmed or frustrated.

Cost Range: 
Grade Level: 
birth to preschool
early elementary
intermediate elementary
middle school
IDEA Disability Category: 
emotional disturbance
hearing impairment
intellectual disability
major-other health impairment
multiple disabilities
orthopedic impairment
specific learning disability
speech or language impairment
traumatic brain injury
Instructional Support: 
opportunities to learn concepts
practice and reinforcement activities
adjustable skill levels
multiple activities and level
multiple user profiles
teacher control
user data stored for progress monitoring
National Reading Panel Standards: 
Cursor Control Options: 
touch screens
Operating Systems: 
Windows (MS 98 and newer)
English Language Arts: 
Reading: Foundational Skills